Giving Up But Not Giving In

Well, for the second year in a row, I’m taking down my flicker house before the end of the breeding season. While “Flick” and “Beaky” were visiting the house pretty regularly for extended periods of time for the month or so, this last week I’ve only seen Beaky twice and both times for just a minute or two. I’m not sure what’s happened to change things, but since last Monday, the starlings have been visiting the house more and more. I’ve had to chase them away more times than I can count. I won’t raise a brood of starlings, so I’m forced to give up and take the box down. I’m not sure what I can do for next year to keep the starlings out and encourage the flickers to move in. Does anyone have any suggestions?

One thought on “Giving Up But Not Giving In”

Leave a Reply

