The Return?

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you’ll know that I attempted to attract northern flickers, a large speckled woodpecker, to my yard by putting up a nest box. You also know that starlings came and evicted the pair of flickers that I named Flick and Beaky, so I took down the box. Since early spring, I haven’t seen any flickers in the neighborhood, that is, until today.

A male flicker has been calling and drumming on the metal vent pipes on my neighbor’s roof today. This is behavior that I’ve only seen displayed in spring during nesting season and acts as a signal to female flickers that a male is available to mate and to warn other males away from his territory. Could he be looking to nest this late in the season? Northern flickers can and do breed as late as June, especially if they’ve lost their earlier nesting cavity to European starlings.

On a whim, I put the flicker box back up to see if it might attract this late-comer and any mate of his. I’ll let you know if anything comes of it.

Leave a Reply

