Iceland Travelogue: Day 1 August 8, 2016

No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get comfortable enough to sleep on the plane so I felt like a zombie most of the day after landing. Ian drove us from Keflavik Airport to Keflavik itself where we ate a hotdog, breaking our long fast. We’d eaten previously at the Chophouse, the best food in Denver Airport.

untitled-0024
Eurasian Oystercatcher and Ruddy Turnstone. Photo by Jamie Simo.

It’s chilly here, only in the 50’s, and it was raining as we drove from Keflavik to Reykjavik. I wanted to explore, but I kept drifting off everytime I close my eyes. This is what jet lag is.

We saw the sea as we drove, and green rocky fields full of sheep and Icelandic horses. The coastline was dotted with Oystercatchers and unknown gulls and I got out occasionally to take photos. I really need a bird guide.

We got into Bogarnes and Hotel Hamar around 2:00pm and the desk assistant gave us some tips on what to see but, again, we were too exhausted. I took a shower (no sulfur in this water) and then we went for a short walk.

untitled-0052
Hotel Hamar. Photo by Jamie Simo.

The hotel sits by a golf course and a hostel/guesthouse. It’s very clean and modern chic, all squares and angles with light furnishings. It’s also very quiet. We had a fantastic meal. Ian had chicken with a carrot bisque soup and mozzarella salad and I had lamb with carrots and other greens.

We decided not to go to the hot tub and instead watched some Olympics coverage before hitting the hay. Tomorrow we start our real adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

